Ray Harryhausen : An Animated Life In Dynamation

RAY HARRYHAUSEN : 1920 – 2013

“People ask me if I would have used computer graphics today. I may have, I don’t know. There’s a lot of technology now that allows you to view instantly the film you’ve just shot. But I never cared what I had done, I only cared where I was going.”

(French article in the following link)

Ray_Harryhausen_Skeleton

His Creature List In Chronological Order

Ray Harryhausen was a master in the art of animation, sculpture, design, optical effects and directing, to give life to his creatures  interacting with the scenery and real actors.

This is Dynamation featurette

My first memory of his art is his latest film, with Bubo, a mechanical owl- my favorite character of the movie. I grew up with his bestiary which feeds my imagination. By joining the legend of cinema, he gave us all a fantastic collection of ever living creatures : grimacing giants, dinosaurs scared, little funny monsters and Titans always moving.

Ray_Harryhausen_Bubo_Golden_Howl

LE CHOC DES TITANS by DESMOND DAVIS

CLASH OF THE TITANS – french poster – 1981

Ray_Harryhausen_ChocDesTitans

You can also read- in French- this article from Capture Mag

Un commentaire Ajoutez le vôtre

  1. Aurore Pupil dit :

    Excellent ! Merci🙂

    J'aime

Laisser un commentaire

