The Daily Routines of E.B. White !

A writer who waits for ideal conditions under which to work will die without putting a word on paper.

E.B. White

EBWhite-Stuart

In an interview with The Paris Review, the famous author of Stuart Little (1945) & Charlotte’s Web (1952), talked about his daily writing routine…

« I never listen to music when I’m working. I haven’t that kind of attentiveness, and I wouldn’t like it at all. On the other hand, I’m able to work fairly well among ordinary distractions. My house has a living room that is at the core of everything that goes on: it is a passageway to the cellar, to the kitchen, to the closet where the phone lives. There’s a lot of traffic. But it’s a bright, cheerful room, and I often use it as a room to write in, despite the carnival that is going on all around me. In consequence, the members of my household never pay the slightest attention to my being a writing man — they make all the noise and fuss they want to. If I get sick of it, I have places I can go.

A writer who waits for ideal conditions under which to work will die without putting a word on paper. »- E.B. White

EBWhite-Charlotte

I really like the Illustrated Book by Garth Williams who is also the illustrator of « The Tall Book of Make Believe » by Jane Werner, 1950.

GarthWilliamsTallBook

2 commentaires Ajoutez le vôtre

  1. Aurore Pupil dit :

    Sympa, merci Emmanuel🙂

    J'aime

Laisser un commentaire

