The Daily Routines of William Gibson

Stand high long enough and your lightning will come.

William Gibson

INTERVIEWER

« What is your writing schedule like ? »

GIBSON

« When I’m writing a book I get up at seven. I check my e-mail and do Internet ablutions, as we do these days. I have a cup of coffee. Three days a week, I go to Pilates and am back by ten or eleven. Then I sit down and try to write. If absolutely nothing is happening, I’ll give myself permission to mow the lawn. But, generally, just sitting down and really trying is enough to get it started. I break for lunch, come back, and do it some more. And then, usually, a nap. Naps are essential to my process. Not dreams, but that state adjacent to sleep, the mind on waking. »

Burning Chrome, 1986

BurningChrome-BookCover

GIBSON

« As I move through the book it becomes more demanding. At the beginning, I have a five-day workweek, and each day is roughly ten to five, with a break for lunch and a nap. At the very end, it’s a seven-day week, and it could be a twelve-hour day. Toward the end of a book, the state of composition feels like a complex, chemically altered state that will go away if I don’t continue to give it what it needs. What it needs is simply to write all the time. Downtime other than simply sleeping becomes problematic. I’m always glad to see the back of that. »

You can also read the long interview from the Paris Review : William Gibson, The Art of Fiction No. 211 by David Wallace-Wells

New Rose Hotel by Abel Ferrara, 1998

NewRoseHotel-Poster

« New Rose Hotel » is a short story by William Gibson, first published in 1984 in Omni and later included in his 1986 collection Burning Chrome.

In this collection, this is my favorite story. And i have wrote a full script in 1996, just before the Ferrara’s film, for a short film adaptation – and you can read in french my : « Hotel New Rose Pitch » & « Hotel New Rose Synopsis« .

Laisser un commentaire

